New favourable resolution for foreign tourists

By N.K.B 14/01/2015 15:47

(QNO) - Accordding to a new resolution which has recently issued by the Vietnamese government, all citizens from seven countries: Russia, Japan, Korea, Denmark, Norway, Sweden and Finland will be permitted to waive visas for single-entry visits within a certain time period.

Since January 2015, all the tourists from those countries whose temporary stay in Vietnam does not exceed 15 days are eligible for the visa waiver irrespective of the kind of passport they are holding and the purpose of their trip. This law becomes effective during five years, from January 1, 2015 to December 31, 2019.

Under a resolution that outlined several measures aimed at developing the tourism industry, Prime Minister Nguyen Tan Dung also asked the ministries of public security, tourism, and foreign affairs to consider waiving tourist visa requirements for other nationalities and to simplify visa procedures that have been decried as ineffective.

Currently, citizens of ASEAN (Association of Southeast Asian Nations) member countries do not need a visa to enter Vietnam.

In addition, since March 10, 2015, foreigners can visit Phu Quoc Island in the Mekong Delta province of Kien Giang up to 30 days without a visa. The visa waiver will also be applied to foreigners who transit at any airport or seaport in Vietnam on their way to Phu Quoc.

By N.K.B

(0) comments
New favourable resolution for foreign tourists